Sometimes I like to start my meal off with a simple broth soup.

We always had broth soup before the main meal of the day when I would stay at my Oma’s in Germany.  Eating a bit of soup before you main meal is a great way to curb the urge to over-indulge by filling up on a low calorie food before the main course is served.

INGREDIENTS

1 med piece celery, finely diced
1 med carrot, peel & finely diced
3 pats butter
6 cups broth (chicken/beef/vegetarian) or 6 cups water to appropriate boullion
1 scallion, finely diced
1/4 cup tiny noodles (similar in size to couscous) such as stars
parsley flakes

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. sautee carrot and celery in 1 pat butter (or PAM)
2. bring broth to med boil
3. add cooked carrots & celery to broth
4. let boil 5 min, then add 2 pats butter
5. add noodles and let boil about 10 min
6. when noodles are cooked, add scallions and parsley
7. serve & enjoy!

if desired, add a little salt to taste, but I think it’s great as is!

Recipe by: r2bcluvs2cook