This recipe comes from the cookbook Vegetarian Times Complete Cookbook (pg 379) and was actually quite good, though I made some modifications to the original recipe which resulted in 5 ingredients or less (not counting salt/pepper).

The original recipe ingredients are listed below with my modifications noted underneath them. For instructions I’ll summarize what I did and you can check out the actual recipe in the cookbook if you want (though it was WAY more complicated in my opinion).

Original Recipe

  • 1-1/2 lb baking potatoes, scrubbed
  • 1-1/2 lb rutabaga
  • 1/2 cup evaporated skim milk
  • cooking water
  • 2 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 1 tsp salt, or to taste (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper, or to taste
  • pinch ground nutmeg

My Modifications

  • 3 med-large yukon gold or other red potato, peeled and chopped
  • 2 med rutabaga, peeled and chopped
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • salt & white pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. boil chopped rutabaga in water for about 5-8 minutes then add the potatoes and continue to boil until tender (about 12-15 minutes more)
  2. drain the potatoes/rutabaga and return to pan for mashing
  3. add the heavy cream (to dull the “raw” flavor of the rutabaga) and mix well
  4. add butter, salt and pepper

Comments:

To ensure the rutabaga is cooked to a similar consistency as the potatoes, they need to boil a little longer to soften as they are much denser than potatoes. You could use a lighter version of whipping cream I feel certain without much difference in flavor. My husband didn’t even realize there were rutabagas in the “yellow mashed potatoes”! I’ll definitely make this (modified) recipe again!

