I stumbled upon yogurt cheese when making tzatziki the other day…don’t know why it never dawned on me before to taste the drained yogurt …. it was almost like cream cheese! I’ve made Quark in the past, aka buttermilk cheese, but it has a very sour taste.

I used a large container of 2% plain yogurt (NOT STIRRED) and placed it in a cheese cloth and let it drain in a strainer for about 8 hours (or overnight). It will be fine to let it drain in your sink as long as your kitchen isn’t too hot. …. You could also use a yogurt maker (which I have and haven’t used yet!)

I loved the creamy consistency that resulted from this process and will make it a regular substitute for cream cheese. I plan to add my own herbs, etc next time to make what I know will be some awesome creamy cheese spread.

