So, I have all these pumpkins in my little garden this year and I decided to make a pumpkin pie for Christmas dinner. I found lots of recipes for pies from scratch and while they all looked good, I decided on the one for which I have all ingredients on hand… I won’t taste it till this weekend, but so far it baked up very nicely and spells tasty.

So, basically you have some baked pumpkin – pureed – add some spices and cream or evaporated milk, and eggs… and off you go. The recipe called for cardamom, which I didn’t have so I just left it out… and even though I drained my pumpkin overnight, it was still a bit watery so I didn’t include all the milk the recipe called for, but my pumpkin pie filling still seemed very thin… but it baked up okay! Also, my hubby picked up graham cracker crust instead of pie crust so… hm…. interesting.

Here’s the link for the pumpkin pie recipe I used on Simply Recipes.

so, we tried the pie last night – very good! the spices weren’t overpowering and personally I could have used a bit more…everyone enjoyed it!

