OMG this was so good….. I wasn’t sure about how it would taste considering it’s so easy when I made the recipe but it is really good. I recommend it for a Sunday brunch side dish (and I plan to test freezing it to find out if it can be made ahead and reheated with any leftovers I may have today).

 

source: Company’s Coming – Potluck Dishes, pg 103 (recipe is paraphrased but amounts exact from book)

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped (I used 2 small onions but I like onions)
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used a bit more, 2/3 cup instead)
  • 1 block softened cream cheese
  • 1/4 tsp dried thyme (I used abt double)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2-1/4 lb pkg frozen hashbrown potatoes
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

Instructions

  1. cook onions in butter in large skillet until soft, about 4 minutes
  2. add soup and milk, combine well, then add cream cheese and spices
  3.  let the mixture melt and stir together well
  4. add the hashbrown potatoes and coat them with the mixture
  5. put into a greased casserole dish (I used PAM spray and 8×8 dish)
  6. bake at 350F for 1 hr uncovered is fine
  7. turn off oven, put cheese on top, and let sit in oven till cheese is melted

Serve when ready to eat!

 

 

